Oregon Traffic School Course Eligibility
In order to register for the Oregon Defensive Driving School’s traffic safety class, you must have received instructions that refer you to take a safety traffic class from a Gresham or Portland police officer. Please read all instructions provided CAREFULLY and COMPLETELY, as they are critical to this process.
For other counties and jurisdictions, it is very important to note that although traffic school courses are approved in Oregon, you must receive authorization from the local court prior to attending or beginning a traffic school course to dismiss a traffic ticket. In addition, various regulations and restrictions may vary by county. We have detailed many of these requirements below, but you must check with your individual county court for more detailed information about traffic school and the point diversion program.
To be eligible to dismiss a traffic ticket by completing a traffic school course, you must NOT have:
- A commercial driver’s license.
- Had any other moving violations within the last 3 years.
- Participated in a traffic school program within the last 12 months.
- Been driving over 100 MPH at the time of your infraction.
Completing Traffic School
Once you’ve successfully completed traffic school in Oregon, you must:
- Provide a copy of your completion certificate to the court on the court date listed in the citation.
- Obey all traffic laws during the diversion period of 90 days.